WHS Library - Class Resources & Pathfinders

Language Arts blue arrowhead graphicProject/Lesson Plans blue arrowhead graphicGrammar & Writing
blue arrowhead graphicAmerican & World Literature blue arrowhead graphicInformation & Media Literacy blue arrowhead graphicSocial Issues

 

Project/Lesson Plans
VOICE OF THE SHUTTLE HOME PAGE: Web Page for Humanities Research http://vos.ucsb.edu/
National Council for Teachers of English http://www.ncte.org/
21st Century Skills Map: English http://www.21stcenturyskills.org/documents/21st_century_skills­_english_map.pdf
English Companion http://englishcompanion.com/
K-12 Literature Based Teaching Ideas http://www.educ1.ucalgary.ca/litindex
CyberGuides: Teacher Guides and Student Activitites (web-delivered units of instruction centered on core works of literature and designed for the one computer classroom) http://www.sdcoe.k12.ca.us/SCORE/cyberguide.html
Teachnology: Grades 9-12 Language Arts Lesson Plans http://www.teach-nology.com/teachers/lesson_plans/language_arts/912/
Harlem Renaissance Web Sites http://www.readwritethink.org/lesson_images/lesson252/websites.html
Facing History and Ourselves http://www.facinghistory.org/
Grammar & Writing
Purdue University's Online Writing Lab http://owl.english.purdue.edu/
The Grammar Lady http://www.grammarlady.com/handcrafted2.asp
Grammar Resources http://writing-program.uchicago.edu/resources/grammar.htm
Grammar Girl http://grammar.quickanddirtytips.com
Tools for Reading, Writing and Thinking http://www.greece.k12.ny.us/instruction/ela/6-12/Tools/Index.htm
Writing Next: Effective Strategies To Improve Writing of Adolescents in Middle and High Schools http://www.carnegie.org/literacy/pdf/writingnext.pdf
Anti Plagiarism Resources http://www.edu-cyberpg.com/Teachers/plagiarism.html
The Write Site: Interactive Language Arts and Journalism Project http://www.writesite.org/
100 Useful Tools for Writers http://www.collegedegrees.com/blog/2008/06/11/100-useful-web-tools-for-writers
Writing Matters: Comprehensive Writing Instruction/Free Classroom Publishing Tools http://writingmatters.org/about
Writing Tips http://coolreading.com/writing_tips.htm
American and World Literature
The Literature Network (full text works) http://www.online-literature.com
The Internet Public Library: online texts http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/browse/hum60.60.00/
Library Spot http://www.libraryspot.com/
Bartleby.com: Great  Books Online http://www.bartleby.com
eBooks http://www.ebooks.com
The Literature Network http://www.online-literature.com/
Everypoet http://www.everypoet.com
Project Gutenberg http://www.gutenberg.net
LibriVox: free, downloadable audiobooks http://librivox.org
The Online Books Page http://onlinebooks.library.upenn.edu
Poets.org: from the Academy of American Poets  http://www.poets.org
Norton Literature Online http://www.wwnorton.com/college/english/literat  urew/OpenSite.htm
Literature Circles http://www.literaturecircles.com/
The English Server http://eserver.org/
Literary Resources on the Net http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/Lit/
Online Literary Criticism Collection http://www.ipl.org/div/litcrit/
Literary Criticism Help http://www.ipl.org/div/pf/entry/48496
Medieval Women: An Interactive Exploration http://mw.mcmaster.ca/home.html
Shakespeare Internet Sites http://internetshakespeare.uvic.ca/Annex/links/index.html
Shakespeare Resource Center http://www.bardweb.net/
Monologue Archive http://www.monologuearchive.com/
Britannia: British History - England, Britain, UK http://britannia.com/history/
Britannia: Monarchs Records of Early English Drama (REED) http://britannia.com/history/monarchs/
Labyrinth Home Page: Resources for Medieval Study http://www8.georgetown.edu/departments/medieval/labyrinth/labyrinth-home.html
Geoffrey Chaucer (ca.1343-1400) http://www.luminarium.org/medlit/chaucer.htm
Resources for the study of Chaucer English http://edgewood.edu/430/430resc.htm
Hanly's WSU Chaucer Page http://www.wsu.edu:8080/~hanly/chaucer/chaucer.html
Resources for the Study of Chaucer http://english.edgewood.edu/430/430resc.htm
Luminarium: Anthology of English Literature http://www.luminarium.org/lumina.htm
Authors and Illustrators on the Web http://www.acs.ucalgary.ca/~dkbrown/authors.html
Adopt an Author  http://adoptanauthor.com
Native American Authors http://www.ipl.org/div/natam/
Bibliomania: The Network Library (e texts) http://www.bibliomania.com/
Glossary of Poetic Terms http://www.poeticbyway.com/glossary.html
The Academy of American Poets http://www.poets.org/
Shadow Poetry http://www.shadowpoetry.com/
Encyclopedia Mythica http://www.pantheon.org/
Information & Media Literacy
Newseum http://www.newseum.org/
Media Awareness Network http://www.media-awareness.ca/english/teachers/index.cfm
FactCheckED http://factchecked.org/
Social Issues
This I Believe: A Public Dialogue About Belief: One Essay at a Time http://thisibelieve.org/
Educators for Social Responsibility http://www.esrnational.org/otc/
Social Issues Resources (multiple perspectives on current social issues) http://www.multcolib.org/homework/sochc.html
ONE: The Campaign to Make Poverty History http://www.one.org
My Hero Project http://myhero.com
Lessons from Literature: Classroom Manuals for the teaching of Their Eyes Were Watching God and The Lord of the Flies  http://lessonsfromliterature.org/curriculum.html

Back to top

black arrowhead. Back to top of page

Error processing SSI file
Error processing SSI file