WHS Library - Class Resources & Pathfinders

Social Studies blue arrowhead graphic General blue arrowhead graphic American History
blue arrowhead graphic World & U.S. Wars blue arrowhead graphic Country Studies/ Geography blue arrowhead graphic World & Ancient History

 

General
New Jersey Core Curriculum Content Standards: Social Studies http://www.state.nj.us/education/aps/cccs/ss/
National Council for the Social Studies http://www.socialstudies.org/
Historynet http://www.historynet.com
Center for History and News Media http://chnm.gmu.edu/
UCLA  Institute on Primary Resources http://ipr.ues.gseis.ucla.edu/info/definition.html
Annenberg Media: Multimedia resources including streaming video http://www.learner.org/resources/browse.html?discipline=7
Any Day in History http://www.scopesys.com/anyday/
Boondocks (photos, political cartoons and cartoonists: search “political cartoons”) http://boondocksnet.com
NOVA: World in the Balance http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/worldbalance/
Social Studies Inquiry Method http://www.vermontsocialstudies.org/resources/ ss_inquirymethod/index.html
National History Education Clearinghouse http://teachinghistory.org/
Best of History Web Sites http://www.besthistorysites.net/
Digital History http://www.digitalhistory.uh.edu
Facing History and Ourselves http://www.facinghistory.org/
Women's History Hotlist http://www.fi.edu/learn/hotlists/women.php
This Day in History http://www.history.com/this-day-in-history.do
Social Issues (multiple perspectives on social issues) http://www.multcolib.org/homework/sochc.html
Educators for Social Responsibility http://www.esrnational.org/otc/
American History
Ellis Island http://www.ellisisland.org/
Generations Network  http://ancestry.com
Teaching with Primary Source Documents http://www.footnote.com/documents
Historical Thinking Matters http://www.historicalthinkingmatters.org
Biography of America http://www.learner.org/biographyofamerica/
Freedom: A History of Us http://www.pbs.org/wnet/historyofus/index.html
American Founding: A users guide to the Declaration of Independence http://www.founding.com/
Archiving Early America http://www.earlyamerica.com/
The West: Episode Three: Speck of the Future http://www.pbs.org/weta/thewest/program/episodes/three/
Presidents of the United States http://www.ipl.org/div/potus/
The American Presidency: Teacher Materials http://www.americanhistory.si.edu/presidency/5b_frame.html
The White House http://www.whitehouse.gov/
Thomas (U.S. Congress) http://thomas.loc.gov/
Our Documents http://www.ourdocuments.gov/index.php?flash=true&
U.S. Department of State http://future.state.gov
The Gilder Lehrman Institute of American History http://www.gilderlehrman.org
Reel American History (movies constructing our history) http://www.lehigh.edu/~ineng/ejg/rahh.html
USA: Outline of American History (1990)  http://odur.let.rug.nl/~usa/H/1990/chap3.htm
Historical United States Census Data Browse http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/collections/stats/histcensus/
The Center for Civics Education http://www.civiced.org/
African American World http://www.pbs.org/wnet/aaworld
Civil Rights Special Collection http://www.teachersdomain.org/special/civil
Slavery in America http://slaveryinamerica.org
Documenting the American South http://docsouth.unc.edu
Uncrowned Queens: African American Women’s History http://www.uncrownedqueens.com
National Women’s History Museum http://www.nwhm.org
Virtual Jamestown http://www.virtualjamestown.com/
Lewis and Clark: The Journey of the Corps of Discovery http://www.pbs.org/lewisandclark/
FactCheckED.org (teacher interest) http://factchecked.org/
Ellis Island http://www.history.com/minisites/ellisisland
American Memory Collection from the Library of Congress http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/index.html
National Archives Streaming Video  Collection http://video.google.com.nara
American History & Government Hotlist http://www.fi.edu/learn/hotlists/government.php
National Heritage Museum Online Exhibits http://www.nationalheritagemuseum.org
First Amendment Resources http://www.channelone.com/teachers/first_amendment_resources/
Center for Civic Education http://www.civiced.org/index.php?page=home
United States: 50 States http://www.50states.com/
Archives of the American West: 1806-1914 http://www.pbs.org/weta/thewest/resources/archives/one/
Thomas Jefferson http://www.pbs.org/jefferson/
National First Ladies' Library http://www.firstladies.org/
Congress Link http://www.congresslink.org/
National Archives and Records Administration http://www.archives.gov/index.html
The National Constitution Center http://www.constitutioncenter.org/education
U.S. Census Bureau http://www.census.gov
American Voices http://dept.houstonisd.org/curriculum/socialstudies/index_voices.html
From Revolution to Reconstruction http://odur.let.rug.nl/~usa/
The American Institute for History Education http://www.americaninstituteforhistory.org
Civics and Citizenship Study Materials http://www.uscis.gov/portal/site/uscis
First Amendment Schools: Lesson Plans (5-12) http://www.firstamendmentschools.org/resources/lessonplans.aspx
The New Jersey African American History Curriculum Guide: Grades 9 to 12 http://www.njstatelib.org/NJ_Information/ Digital_Collections/AAHCG/index.html
Freedmen and Southern Society Project http://www.history.umd.edu/Freedmen
Slavery: Flight to Freedom: an interactive simulation http://ssad.bowdoin.edu:9780/projects/flighttofreedom/intro.shtml
In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience http://www.inmotionaame.org/home.cfm;jsessionid= f8301570631241459555708?bhcp=1
New Jersey Women's History http://www.scc.rutgers.edu/njwomenshistory/
The Molly Brown House http://mollybrown.org
Lewis and Clark Expedition http://www.lewis-clark.org/
FactCheck.org: Organization monitors the factual accuracy of statements made by major U.S. political figures http://www.factcheck.org/
Calisphere: Culture and History of California http://www.calisphere.universityofcalifornia.edu
World and U.S. Wars
Civil War Preservation Trust http://civilwar.org
Civil War Battles by State http://americancivilwar.com/statepic/index.html
Civil War Animated http://www.civilwaranimated.com
Boys in the Civil War http://www.civilwarhome.com/boysinwar.htm
Civil War Photos http://www.civilwarphotos.net
American Civil War Music http://www.pdmusic.org/civilwar2.html#1
Civil War Food http://www.nps.gov/archive/gett/gettkidz/hardtack.htm
Civil War Index Page http://www.homepages.dsu.edu/jankej/civilwar/civilwar.htm
Reporting America at War http://www.pbs.org/weta/reportingamericaatwar/
National WWII Memorial http://wwiimemorial.com/
Gulf War Veterans Resources Pages http://www.gulfweb.org/locator/locator_search.cfm
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum http://www.ushmm.org/
America and the Holocaust http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/amex/holocaust/
The Nizkor Holocaust Educational Resource http://www1.us.nizkor.org/
The Holocaust Research Project (info about all of the concentration camps) http://www.holocaustresearchproject.org/toc.html
Shamash: The Jewish Internet Consortium Holocaust Home Page http://www.shamash.org/holocaust/
Simon Wiesenthal Center http://www.wiesenthal.com/site/pp.asp?c=lsKWLbPJLnF&b=4441251
Auschwitz: Inside the Nazi State http://www.pbs.org/auschwitz/
C.A.N.D.L.E.S. Holocaust Museum (Children of Auschwitz Nazi Deadly Lab Experiments Surviviors) http://www.candlesholocaustmuseum.org/
The Nazi Deathcamp Sobibor http://www.auschwitz.dk/sobibor/Default.htm
Inside a Nazi Deathcamp http://www.eyewitnesstohistory.com/maidanek.htm
Cybrary of the Holocaust http://remember.org/
Ghetto Fighters' Museum http://gfh.org.il/eng/
A Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust http://fcit.coedu.usf.edu/holocaust/default.htm
Nuremberg War CrimesTrials Collection http://avalon.law.yale.edu/subject_menus/imt.asp
The Aftermath: Liberators, On Trial, and The Perpetrators http://www.remember.org/Facts.root.aftermath.html
Japanese American National Museum http://www.janm.org/helptoday/?next=/nrc/
Manzanar National Historic Site http://www.nps.gov/manz/
Children of the Camps http://www.pbs.org/childofcamp/
Civil War Battles http://www.sonofthesouth.net/leefoundation/civil-war-battles.htm
Battles by State http://ehistory.osu.edu/uscw/features/battles/states/index.cfm
Digital History http://www.digitalhistory.uh.edu/learning_history/ children_civilwar/child_soldiers.cfm
Alice Williamson Diary http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/Williamson
Civil War Photos http://www.wildwest.net/cwphotos.html
Music of War Between the States http://www.civilwarpoetry.org/music/index.html
Maps of War http://www.mapsofwar.com
World War II: A Digital Library http://digitalcollections.smu.edu/all/cul/hgp/indexRedirect.html
Online Searchable Military Records and Veterans Database http://home.att.net/~wee-monster/military.html
Vietnam Veterans Memorial Wall http://thewall-usa.com/
WW II and Korean Conflict Veterans Interred Overseas http://www.familymilitaryrecords.com/db.asp?dbid=4283
The Holocaust: Crimes, Heroes, and Villains http://www.auschwitz.dk/
The Holocaust Chronicle http://www.holocaustchronicle.org/
The Holocaust/Shoah Page (MANY great links: be sure to scroll down to the Holocaust Website Resources) http://frank.mtsu.edu/~baustin/holo.html
Web Genocide Documentation Centre http://www.ess.uwe.ac.uk/genocide.htm
Anne Frank Online http://annefrank.com/
Interactive Map of Auschwitz http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/worldwars/genocide/ launch_ani_auschwitz_map.shtml
An Auschwitz Alphabet http://www.spectacle.org/695/ausch.html
Treblinka Deathcamp http://www.auschwitz.dk/Treblinka.htm
Bergen-Belsen Death Camp (scroll down below photos for information links) http://isurvived.org/Bergen-Belsen_liberation.html
Letters to Sala: A Young Woman's Life in Nazi Labor Camps http://www.nypl.org/research/chss/sala/
To Save a Life: Stories of Holocaust Rescue http://www.humboldt.edu/~rescuers/book/synopses.html#top
German Propaganda Archive http://www.calvin.edu/academic/cas/gpa/
Holocaust Research Guide http://web.library.emory.edu/subjects/humanities/history/Holocnet.html
NOVA Online: Holocaust on Trial http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/holocaust/
Eva Braun: The Wife of Hitler http://www.evabraun.dk/index.htm
Japanese American Relocation Digital Archive http://www.oac.cdlib.org/
War Relocation Authority Camps in Arizona http://parentseyes.arizona.edu/wracamps/index.html
Country Studies / Geography
Portals to the World from the Library of Congress http://www.loc.gov/rr/international/portals.html
Outreach World http://www.outreachworld.org
World History Matters: Online Map Resources http://chnm.gmu.edu/worldhistorysources/unpacking/mapsonline.php
US State Department - Services - Background Notes http://www.state.gov/www/background_notes/
My Wonderful Wolrd: Global Geographic Knowledge http://www.mywonderfulworld.org/index.html
America's 385 National Parks http://www.nps.gov/
Library of Congress / Federal Research Division / Country Studies / Area Handbook Series http://lcweb2.loc.gov/frd/cs/cshome.html
Country Reports (weather, flags, anthems, country info,online discussions, student exchange) http://www.countryreports.org/
Home @ nationalgeographic.com http://www.nationalgeographic.com/
Nationalatlas.gov http://nationalatlas.gov/
University of Pennsylvania Links to African Studies http://www.africa.upenn.edu/Home_Page/AFR_GIDE.html
National Geographic's Maps http://www.nationalgeographic.com/education/
Maps On Us http://www.mapsonus.com/mapsonus/
Maps That Teach: U.S. and World Maps and Puzzles http://www.yourchildlearns.com/geography.htm
Periodical Historical Atlas of Europe http://www.euratlas.com/summary.htm
Africa Hotlist http://www.fi.edu/learn/hotlists/africa.php
The Africa Guide http://www.africaguide.com/
China: From Silk to Oil http://www.chinainstitute.org/index.cfm?fuseaction= Page.ViewPage&PageID=577
National Geographic’s My Wonderful World Campaign http://mywondefulworld.org
Panoramas: Interactive panoramas (virtual reality photographs) from around the world http://www.panoramas.dk/
Historic Maps for the K-12 Classroom http://www.newberry.org/k12maps/
US State Department - Services - Consular Affairs http://travel.state.gov/
China's Journey http://ngm.nationalgeographic.com/2008/05/table-of-contents
The Electronic Embassy http://www.embassy.org/
CIA World Fact Book https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/index.html
Welcome to the United Nations CyberSchoolBus http://www.un.org/Pubs/CyberSchoolBus/
Franklin Institute Geography Hotlist http://www.fi.edu/learn/hotlists/geography.php
AskAsia Homepage http://www.askasia.org/
Amnesty International http://www.amnesty.org/
MapQuest http://www.mapquest.com/
Atlas of Political, Historic, and Physical Maps by Houghton Mifflin http://www.eduplace.com/ss/maps/
Mapping Lessons http://www.maphistory.info/teachers.html#lesson
Geocaching With Kids http://www.eduscapes.com/geocaching/kids.htm
Africa: Country-Specific Pages http://www.africa.upenn.edu/Home_Page/Country.html
Africa Focus: Sights and Sounds of a Continent http://digicoll.library.wisc.edu/AfricaFocus/
Jewish Women Encyclopedia http://jwa.org/encyclopedia
World & Ancient History
World Digital Library http://www.wdl.org/en
Ancient Civilizations http://www.ancientcivilizations.co.uk/home_set.html
Finding World History http://chnm.gmu.edu/worldhistorysources/whmfinding.php
History Link 101 http://www.historylink101.com/
Philosophy Research Base http://www.erraticimpact.com/
ORB--Online Reference Book for Medieval Studies http://www.the-orb.net/
Medieval Women - An Interactive Exploration http://chnm.gmu.edu/worldhistorysources/whmfinding.php
The Costume Page - Costume History http://www.costumepage.org/tcpinfo2.html
Duke Papyrus Archive http://scriptorium.lib.duke.edu/papyrus/texts/homepage.html
Electronic Tools and Ancient Near Eastern Archives http://www.etana.org/coretexts.shtml
Ancient History Sourcebook http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/pgc.asp?page=ancient/asbook.html
Odyssey Online: Ancient World Studies http://carlos.emory.edu/ODYSSEY/index.html
A Hotlist on Ancient Egypt http://www.kn.att.com/wired/fil/pages/listancientmr123.html
HyperHistory Online http://www.hyperhistory.com/online_n2/ History_n2/a.html
NetSERF: The Internet Connection for Medieval Resources http://www.netserf.org/
Medieval History http://historymedren.about.com/
Britannia http://www.britannia.com/wonder/wonder.html
Cuneiform Digital Library Initiative http://www.cdli.ucla.edu/index.html
Electronic Text Corpus of Sumerian Literature http://www-etcsl.orient.ox.ac.uk/
Europeana Museum http://europeana.ed/porta

Back to top

black arrowhead. Back to top of page

Error processing SSI file
Error processing SSI file