Talented & Gifted

T.A.G Prgram Overview

Monroe Township Public Schools is committed to providing our students the educational opportunities to develop their unique talents and help them become productive and engaged citizens. The T.A.G. (Talented & Gifted) program strives to provide a challenging curriculum, while enhancing the development of the talents of our students. Program content is addressed through a three pronged approach - student-centered program goals, educational needs, and collaborative planning. Our T.A.G. program is designed to provide students with a learning environment that helps students realize their potential, develop their unique talents and abilities, and encourages academic rigor. In our elementary program (K-4), students participate in a “pull-out” program once or twice a week depending upon their placement. They remain in their home schools. Educators, trained in instruction for gifted students, provide a curriculum that focus on communication, research skills, problem-solving and critical thinking. Once students reach the middle (5-8) and high school (9-12) levels, they may qualify for higher level classes in specific subject areas.

2016-2017 Application

State Resource Sheet - New Jersey 2013-2014

NJ Department of Education
Dr. Janis Jensen
Director, Office of Academic Standards
janis.jensen@doe.state.nj.us
(609) 984-5322
NJ Department of Education
Dr. Janis Jensen
Director, Office of Academic Standards
janis.jensen@doe.state.nj.us
(609) 984-5322
The National Talent Network
c/o EIRC  Attn: Maria Cotton
606 Delsea Drive
Sewell, NJ  08080
(856) 582-7000 ext. 136
(Interactive programs for Gifted Students)
mcotton@eirc.org
The Gifted Child Clinic
Dr. Barbara Louis, PhD.
Robert Wood Johnson Professional Center
89 French Street
New Brunswick, NJ  08901
College/University Resources Montclair State University
Aznir Haron, Acting Director
Academically Gifted/Talented Youth Program
Upper Montclair, NJ  07043
(973) 655-4104
harona@mail.montclair.edu
Gifted Child Society, Inc.
Janet Chen, Executive Director
190 Rock Road
Glen Rock, NJ  07452-1736
(201) 444-6530
Global Institute for Maximizing Potential
Dr. Suzanne Richert
(732) 776-7360
richert@globalinst.com
State Organization
New Jersey Association for Gifted Children (NJAGC)

P.O. Box 667
Mt. Laurel, NJ  08054
(856) 273-7530     (856) 829-5074 (fax)
njagc@njagc.org
Northern NJ Mensa
Kathe Oliver & Robin Herbison
G/T Coordinators
gcp@nnjmensa.org

Johns Hopkins University
(CTY) Center for Talented Youth
www.cty.jhu.edu

POGO (Parents of Gifted Offspring) NJ Governor’s School
NJ Governor’s School Rochelle Hendricks
Assistant Commissioner, NJDOE
District and School Improvement
rochelle.hendricks@doe.state.nj.us
(609) 292-4442

Cheri Quinlan
Gifted and Talented Coordinator
cheri.quinlan@doe.state.nj.us

Donna Vaupel, President
president@njagc.org ucgta@hotmail.com

Elaine Mendelow, Immed. Past Pres.
njagcelaine@verizon.net

Norine Greenhouse, Educator Chair
educatorchair@njagc.org

Lisa Rabke, Parent Chair
parentchair@njagc.org

Roberta Braverman, Advocacy VP
advocacy@njagc.org

Rose Cardona, Administrator
Member_services@njagc.org

 

Gifted and Talented Web Sites